GEORGE JUNIUS STINNEY, JR.

IN MEMORIAM:
GEORGE JUNIUS STINNEY, JR.
October 21, 1929 – June 16, 1944

Stinney 20141227_181209-1

Remembered at St. Paul’s/Wellsboro PA Dec. 22, 2014.
Communion music: A Christmas Lullabye

The first person this project memorialized was the youngest person ever electrocuted in the 20th century, George Stinney, Junior, who was exonerated (just before Christmas, 2014) of killing two white girls in 1944.

I have not found anything yet about his life before this wrongful conviction and execution; a movie is due out soon.

During Communion, I played A Christmas Lullabye, and wondered if George had found peace.

The words are:

Are you far away from home this dark and lonely night?
Oh tell me what best would help to ease your mind:
Someone to give direction for this unfamiliar road,
Or one who says, “Follow me and I will lead you home.”?

How beautiful, how precious the Savior of old,
To love so completely the loneliest soul.
How gently, how tenderly He says to one and all,
“Child you can follow Me and I will lead you home;
Trust Me and follow Me and I will lead you home.”

Be near me, Lord Jesus I ask Thee to stay
Close by me forever and love me I pray;
Bless all the dear children in Thy tender care,
And take us to Heaven to live with Thee there–
Take us to Heaven to live with Thee there.

(Writer(s): Chris Eaton, Copyright: Sgo Music Publishing Ltd., Dayspring Music LLC)

What are your thoughts?

