What image are you burning into YOUR mind this month?

“As surely as I live, says the Sovereign Lord, I take no pleasure in the death of wicked people.” Ezekiel 33.11

I had a moment to reflect on that Scripture again this week, in the checkout line today– the current Time Magazine cover.

Osama (quite a beautiful man physically: intelligent, liquid eyes, sweet mouth)– with a big, red, dripping X over his image. I thought, well, it’s a better image to insta-burn into my mind than the killshot video going viral right now, but I wonder what my new friends over at the Islamic Society feel when they see this? I do not KNOW.

It’s a new friendship… so all I really know so far is that their lives probably changed that day… and that those things have changed in a way that means my loving but weak hello message did not get a reply. Race/class, culture, and tech toys– oh my!– all colliding in one Crosswalk.

Let us consider how to provoke one another to love and good deeds, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some. Hebrews 10:24-25

~Susan

3 responses to “What image are you burning into YOUR mind this month?

  1. Thank you’s are due to an active WordPress blogger whose comment is full of all the things about which I long to help build peace.

    It would be so easy to delete or “non-approve” the comment– it’s not the kind of stuff I want to perpetuate via my own blog. But I think about ALL comments, and I’m praying about how to respond to some of the points he raised, as I meander thru my busy days.

    I don’t like censorship, and he has a blog of his own to say whatever he likes, but this is my soapbox…. I take the responsibility it confers very seriously.

    I AM interested in conversation among peacemakers– I am NOT at all interested in debate, so I leave it to others who value it.

    So I’m praying about how to respond to some of the points he raised, as I meander thru a presbytera’s very busy days. This is what I do with comments that make me think! (There’s another very old comment on another matter I still have not decided about!)

    ~Susan

  2. Appreciate your comment, Susan. I think above all things as Christians we should be peacemakers.

    And, I admit that people dancing and cheering in the streets following the death of Osama was troubling to me.

    He was an evil man, but as you’ve stated does God take pleasure in the death of the wicked? There is a difference between justice, and reflecting a thirst for revenge.

    I missed the comment by the other blogger.

    • You missed it because I did not approve it for public view. It was valid for the writer, so I “listened” to it respectfully, but it does not belong on MY platform. :~)

      He has his own.

What are your thoughts?

