Fitting His Open Spaces

I was thinking, while ushering at a recent funeral, how sometimes I am in the group… but more often I am between the groups– and that if I do not stand in that middle place, often there is no one else present who can, or will.

The action that prompted this reflection was that I stepped into the only space literally open, to hold a box of help-yourself tissues¬† I’d gone off to fetch. That open spot put one foot inside the Chapel as ashes were reposed by the priest and family, and one foot in the aisle where the congregation could hear me pray audibly and (thus prompted) join in. The result– a churchful of sympathetic mourners were joined mystically to the family’s and priest’s prayers inside the very tiny Chapel that houses our parish’s Columbarium.

The text that arrived in my mailbox today relates to this, as well:

Wednesday, February 2
Psalm 18:37-45
2 Chronicles 3:1-5:1; Acts 18:8-21

“And I sought for anyone among them who would repair the wall and stand in the breach before me on behalf of the land, so that I would not destroy it; but I found no one.” Ezekiel 22:30

“The Son of Man came not to be served but to serve, and to give his life a ransom for many.” Matthew 20:28

Savior, with love and compassion you came to redeem us from our sins. With grace and humility you served your people and gave your life for us. Help us to emulate your life of love and service to others. Amen.

*alt. © 1975 by Broadman Press

http://www.moravian.org/daily_texts/


Another gap where I often work is the website and blogs for our parish. This is the week I had set aside to batchenter a bunch of my husband’s writings into his blog. It’s a copy-editing and technical service I have volunteered to do in order to explore how best to do it, so I can teach him the most important aspects efficiently. (Now that the blog is rolling, he will update it and a helper will work with me on another aspect of it.)

What I enjoy about that work is also what makes it hard to deal with– whenever I copy-edit, I go into the reality of the writer. One has to, to make sure that any adjustments will fit the voice of the author. And it’s a step into our Lord’s will, as well.

Sometimes it’s hard to back out of those realities, and get back into my own present-time, but it’s always worth the trip and I always learn much more than I give in the work. One also finds oneself stepping right into the realities of the people who will ultimately read the material– sensitive to what will they pick up on, wonder about, care about, etc.

In this case, I found out that a good number of pieces to work with at a time would have been 4 or 5– not 10-12! :~) But the backlog is well on its way to being done, and they will not pile up again– because I found a helper to do some of the work; that releases me to see, and step into, the next open gap.

So…. where is our Lord calling you to fill a gap? Are you open enough to His leadership to step into it without hesitating? Do you trust Him to show you, once you are there, what He wants from you, and why He chose “the unique you at this time” for that particular gap?

~Susan

One response to “Fitting His Open Spaces

What are your thoughts?

